J.R. Blackwell Self Portrait

Blightborn Update: I Won!

I won a kindle in the Blightborn Selfie contest! Thank you to everyone who voted in my poll and helped me pick a photo.

I was really inspired by this contest, because it combines two of my passions – fiction and photography. Photography is a big medium – there are fashion photographers and journalists and lifestyle photographers. If I have a corner of the photography world that lights my heart, its making fiction into reality, even if it’s just for a fraction of a second. Fiction in a fraction. So for a moment, I can be a Heartland woman, or I can make a Beast Man or an Alien Queen. That’s what I love most.

My photo was Chuck’s pick for the win, but he’s letting folks pick a second winner via votes, so if you want to see the other entries to the contest and vote for another winner, you can do that by clicking here.

Here’s what Chuck had to say about my photo: As always, it’s a hard choice, but at the end of the day I’m always into cosplay — and J.R. Blackwell’s image of herself as a Heartlander amongst the corn is basically whoa-mazing.

The photo below was second in my poll. I could only submit one photo to the contest, but that doesn’t mean I don’t adore this photo. I got up at dawn to take this photo in front of a building that’s condemned. Morning light is just the sweetest.

Condemned by J.R Blackwell Self Portrait

Condemned by J.R Blackwell
Self Portrait

One thought on “Blightborn Update: I Won!

Comments are closed.